The headquarter of milk processing company ‘Pienocentras‘ is one of the most outstanding examples of mixed-use architecture in Kaunas constructed in the early 1930s. A harmonic combination of elegance and functionality, that is evident in the design of the building, was particularly well received in the Exposition Internationale des Arts et des Techniques (1937). From this exhibition the Lithuanian delegates brought not only a certificate of honour, but also received a Bronze Medal for the ‘Pienocentras‘ design. At the time of its completion, in 1934, a five storey structure stood out from the rest of the surrounding buildings in terms of its height and its functional versatility. Under its roof this building housed all: administrative offices, a shop of dairy products, a canteen, a hairdressing salon and some apartments. Along with the neighbouring Palace of Advance (opened in 1934), ‘Pienocentras’ headquarter served as significant ‘foundation pillars’ in the development of a vibrant pedestrian avenue now known as Laisvės alėja. In 1946 a considerable amount of ‘Pienocentras’ house was adopted for academic use of Kaunas University of Technology (former Kaunas Polytechnic Institute). Up until today it is mainly managed by the university.